Cloning assets

Cloning an asset creates a copy of the asset and its dependent assets, including its content. Cloning assets is useful if you want to start with a template but then modify it with your content. For example, if you need to add a new article on your site, you can clone one of the other articles, so you have a template to start with and then modify the content.

When you clone an asset, both assets get the same name but a different asset ID, which means they are two uniquely identified assets. If you edit one asset, it will not change the other asset so you can change the name of the cloned asset, and it will not change the name of the original asset.

Read Linking assets to learn how to make content display in multiple areas of your site.

To clone assets:

  1. Drag and drop one or more assets into the location to which you want to clone them.

    Dropping an asset directly onto a parent asset and selecting Clone here clones the asset under this parent asset as a child. For example, if you are cloning a standard page asset under a site asset.
  2. Select Clone here.

  3. On the HIPO screen, optionally decide whether you want to change the name of the cloned assets.

    1. Click (Optionally) Change the name of the cloned assets.

    2. Type a new name for each asset into the Change to field.

  4. Click Next to finish cloning the assets.

When you clone an asset, various settings, including the permissions, metadata schemas, workflow schemas, and roles inherit from its new parent.

If you are a backend user, you will not have the correct permissions to apply some of these settings. You may, therefore, receive several warning messages once the HIPO Job completes.

You can safely ignore these messages generated after cloning an asset: the process has completed successfully.

© 2015-2020 Squiz Pty Ltd