Purging the trash

To entirely delete an asset from Matrix, you must purge it from the system’s Trash folder.

Once you purge an asset, it is unrecoverable unless you restore a system backup of your Matrix system.

Purge the trash regularly. Asset build-up in the trash can cause your system to become less responsive. When you eventually purge the trash, the process can take much longer to complete.

How to purge the trash on a matrix system

You must be a system administrator to purge assets from the trash.
  1. Right-click on the Trash asset and select Purge trash.

  2. On the Purge trash screen, choose one of the following purging approaches:

    All assets are purged if you do not select a root node in the Trash asset tree.
  3. In the Link age section, optionally select whether you only want to purge assets of a certain age.

  4. On the Purge trash confirmation screen, review the root node assets you selected.

  5. Click Yes, purge all these assets! to complete the purging process.

Purging a section of the trash

If you have deleted a large group of assets (such as a whole website), you may choose only to purge a section of assets you know you no longer need anymore.

Purging assets is a permanent and unrecoverable operation.
  1. In the Purge root nodes field, use one of the following methods to select the root node:

    • Type the asset ID for the section you want to delete

    • Use the Select asset button to choose the asset from the asset tree, then right-click and select Use Me

  2. Optionally click the Plus button to add another root node field and use the same method to select more parent assets from the Trash folder.

    If you select an asset located outside of the Trash folder, it will not get purged.
  3. Once you have selected all assets to purge, click Purge trash.

  4. On the Purge trash confirmation screen, review the root node assets you selected.

  5. Click Yes, purge all these assets! to complete the purging process.

Purging all assets in the trash

Purging assets is a permanent and unrecoverable operation.
  1. Right-click on the Trash folder in the asset tree and click Purge trash.

  2. On the Purge trash confirmation screen, click Yes, purge all these assets! to complete the purging process.

© 2015- Squiz Pty Ltd