Locking an asset
|The process of locking an asset for editing was known as Acquire Locks in Matrix 5.5. In Matrix 6.0 and higher, you automatically acquire asset locks when you click Edit on any asset screen.|
Before you can edit an asset, you must restrict editing access to the asset for other users, so you do not get editing conflicts. Asset locks are how Matrix ensures that only one user can make changes to an asset at a time.
Locking an asset tells other users that you are working on a specific piece of content.
When locks are released, the content becomes available to others again. Locks release under the following circumstances and conditions:
Asset locks release when you save your changes after a pre-set time elapses (ten minutes by default).
A system administrator can use the Release Locks function to clear all asset locks.