Matrix allows users to classify incomplete or reviewable content from completed and approved content. You control this asset classification by setting assets within the system to a specific Status.
Assets get a status of Under construction when first created in the system. Once you are ready to publish an asset, you change the asset status to Live, and it is available on the frontend.
Matrix offers six different statuses, which are dependent upon the current status of the asset and the level of access you have.
|Only Matrix users with Write or Admin permissions can see this status.|
When you first create an asset, it has a status of Under construction. Content is under development, and the asset not yet approved for publication.
Assets that are Under construction do not appear as part of the content of a public website.
|A user with write or admin permissions can edit a Live asset.|
Once a workflow administrator reviews and approves an asset as part of the workflow applied to it, the asset moves to the Live status.
The users who can see the asset depends on what permissions the asset has.
For an asset to be visible on a public site, its status must be Live, and it must have read permission granted to the public user.
Safe edit lets you make changes to a Live asset without the changes being seen in the Site until they are approved.
|Enroll in Matrix 6: Publishing content to learn more about this topic.|
Safe edit leaves the Live version of the asset displayed on a Site for users with Read permission to it while making a second copy for you to edit at your leisure.
If the Safe edit version of the asset is made Live the newer version replaces the previous Live version.
Safe edit can be cancelled during the editing process, discarding any changes and reverting the asset to its previous Live version. To cancel Safe edit, select Cancel safe edit on the Status section of the Details screen of the asset.
Write Permission is needed to view the differences between the contents of the Live version of the asset and the Safe edit version when Previewing the asset with Compare Changes turned on.
Admin Permission is needed to change the status of an asset from Safe edit to Live. At the same time, at least Write Permission is needed to cancel the Safe edit.
When an asset is Safe edit approved, changes made to the asset while in Safe edit have been reviewed and are ready to be published.
Please note that a user with Admin Permission can still reject the Safe edit changes made to the asset at this time. If this happens, the status of the asset reverts to Safe edit, with the Safe edit changes preserved for further editing.
To reject the approval, select Reject Changes in the Status section of the Details screen of the asset.
The Up for Review status is used to review the content of the asset. You can schedule an asset to update its status to Up for Review at a particular date and time, to remind users to review and update its content.
For example, an asset can change its status to Up for Review every six months to prompt reviewers to ensure that its content is correct and up to date. For more information on changing the status of an asset at a particular date and time, read Asset details screen.
To make changes to an asset that is Up for Review, you need to change its Status to Safe edit. If no changes are required, you can change the Status to Live. You can also choose to archive an asset that is Up for Review by changing its status to Archived.
When an asset is Archived, it is not visible to any users that have read permissions to it, and changes are locked. You would use this status if you wanted to keep the asset for future reference. For example, if the asset is a job application form, you might need to keep the asset until you have processed all of the applications.