Creating and managing discussions

Overview

Within a community, one or more discussions can be created, where an individual discussion typically relates to a specific topic or task (within the community’s focus), where Workplace users can then contribute comments to the discussion.

A community’s discussion can also be managed by editing the title/brief description for the discussion’s topic or task, and/or its introductory Overview, as well as archiving the discussion.

Creating a discussion

A discussion can be created:

To create a community’s discussion:

  1. Ensure you have accessed Workplace’s communities feature.

  2. Click the tile of the community where a new discussion will be created, to access the community’s overview page.

  3. On the DISCUSSIONS tab, click the add discussion button Add discussion button, which opens the Add discussion dialog box.

    If there are no existing discussions, click + Add discussion in middle of this section.
  4. Specify a title/brief description for the topic or task being discussed in the Discussion title field, and click Create.
    The new discussion appears at the top of the list of discussions.

  5. click the title of the discussion (you specified above) to open it.

    The Discussion title specified above appears in a box immediately below the tabs, which you can edit by clicking its existing name.
  6. Add the discussion’s description, by clicking the Click to add description text to begin writing this description for the topic or task in the resulting text editing box.

    • Upon completing the description, click the tick icon to save (or 'x' icon to cancel) your changes.

Editing a discussion

Editing a community’s discussion involves modifying the title/brief description for the discussion’s topic or task and/or introductory description.

Any logged in Workplace user can edit any public community’s discussion, as well as edit any private community’s discussion in which:

  • permissions have not yet been configured within the community and

  • the user is a member of the community.

To edit a community’s discussion:

  1. Ensure you have accessed Workplace’s communities feature.

  2. Click the tile of the community whose discussion is being edited, to access the community’s overview page.

  3. On the DISCUSSIONS tab, click the title of the discussion to open it.

  4. In this discussion (section):

    • To edit the discussion’s title, clicking its existing name.

      • Upon completion, click the tick icon to save (or 'x' icon to cancel) your changes.

    • To edit the discussion’s description, clicking its existing description.

      • Again, upon completion, click the tick icon to save (or 'x' icon to cancel) your changes.

You can also edit the community’s name, description and image from a community’s discussion page too. Learn more about this in Editing a community.

Archiving a discussion

Archiving a community hides the community from the Workplace Communities page and makes it inaccessible.

Any logged in Workplace user can archive any public community, as well as archive a private community in which:

  • permissions have not yet been configured and

  • the user is a member.

Only a Workplace system administrator can 'unarchive' the community, which restores the community to the Communities page.

To archive a community:

  1. Ensure you have accessed Workplace’s communities feature.

  2. Click the tile of the community whose discussion is being archived to access the community’s overview page.

  3. On the DISCUSSIONS tab, click the title of the discussion to open it.

  4. Click the Archive button towards the top-right of the discussion (section).

  5. Click Archive in the Archive discussion dialog box, bearing in mind that no-one else will be able to access, modify or contribute to the community’s discussion unless it is unarchived.

© 2015- Squiz Pty Ltd