Working with communities

Overview

Communities is an extensive feature of Workplace that helps to break down organisational silos.

An individual community provides a focus for group discussions across an organisation, and collaboration about specific topics or tasks. A community consists of one or more discussions, where Workplace users can interact on a given discussion topic through comments.

Communities can be either:

  • Public - Any logged in Workplace user can access and modify all content within the community.

  • Private - Only the creator of the community and invited members to the community can access and modify all content within the community.

    Workplace users who are Workplace system administrators:

    • Have access to all private communities.

    • Can configure permissions within a private community by implementing differential manager- and user-level access in the private community. This allows specific Workplace users (who are not Workplace system administrators) to retain full control within the private community. Such users are referred to as managers.

Accessing the communities feature

To access Workplace’s communities feature:

  1. Ensure you are logged in to Workplace.

  2. Do either of the following:

    • Click COMMUNITIES in the global navigation menu (if available). This takes you directly to the ALL tab of the Communities page, which lists all the communities (you have access to*) that have been created in Workplace and are currently available for discussions.

    • Click the user avatar menu followed by My Communities in the drop-down menu. This takes you directly to the FOLLOWING tab of the Communities page, which lists only the communities you are following.

    The Communities page is also known as the communities listing page.

* Only Workplace users who are members of private communities (including members added to these communities), can see and access these communities from the Communities page.

Accessing a community

Once you have accessed Workplace’s communities feature and are on the Communities page, click a community’s tile to access the community’s overview page.

This overview page is also known as the community overview page. Learn more about using this page in The community’s overview page below.

You can filter communities on the Communities page by clicking either the:

  • ALL tab, which lists all the communities (you have access to) that have been created in Workplace.

  • FOLLOWING tab, which lists only the communities you are following.

If the community overview page contains no communities or you simply want to create a new community, learn more about how to do this in Creating a community.

The community’s overview page

A community’s overview page consists of the following sections:

  • Overview - typically a few sentences or paragraphs that introduce the community and describe its purpose. Learn more about editing these features in Editing a community.

  • Discussions - a section (below Overview) where individual discussions and uploaded documents can be accessed respectively through the DISCUSSIONS and KEY DOCUMENTS tabs. Learn more about this feature in Creating and managing discussions and Contributing to a community.

  • Contributors ( public communities only ) - a section to the right of the community overview page which displays the avatar icons of Workplace users who have contributed to the public community.

  • Members ( private communities only ) - a section to the right of the community overview page which displays the avatar icons of Workplace users who are members of the private community.

The community overview page provides the ability to follow, favourite and archive the community.

Following a community

If one or more communities interests you, you can follow them, which allows you to keep track of contributions to all discussions within these communities. Following a community also provides quick access to the community from your user avatar menu, and allows others to see your followed communities from your staff profile page.

When you follow a community:

  • Any comments made within the community appear within the MY COMMUNITIES tab of the Workplace home page. Remember that comments are made within a community’s discussions. Learn more about this feature in Contributing to a community.

  • The community appears in the FOLLOWING tab of the Communities page (which you can access directly through the user avatar menu). See Accessing the communities feature above for more information.

  • The community also appears in the Communities section of your staff profile page.

To follow a community from its overview page, click the Follow (or Unfollowed) button towards the top-right of the page:

Follow button

If you are viewing a private community and are not currently following that community, then this button indicates Unfollowed.

If you are already following a community, then the button indicates Following, its icon indicates a tick and highlights with a colour (green):

Following button

Clicking this button again allows you to 'unfollow' the community, which reverts the button to its greyed-out state.

  • You can also follow (or unfollow) a community from the Communities page, by clicking the Follow/Unfollowed button on the community’s tile.

  • If you are viewing a private community and click the Following button, you then need to click the Unfollow community option to unfollow that community. Upon unfollowing any private community, its Following button indicates Unfollowed.

'Favouriting' a community

'Favouriting' a community page automatically creates a link to the page from the Favourites tab of the Quick Links section of the Workplace home page. The favourite link details are also recorded in your Favourites Manager page, accessible via the My favourites link in the user avatar menu.

To favourite a community from its overview page, click the Favourite button towards the top-right of the page:

Favourite button

If you have already favourited this community, then this button highlights with a colour (yellow):

Favourite button (yellow)

Clicking this button again allows you to 'unfavourite' the community, which reverts the button to its original greyed-out state.

What’s covered in this section of the guide?

© 2015- Squiz Pty Ltd