Creating and managing discussions

Overview

Within a community, one or more discussions can be created, where an individual discussion typically relates to a specific topic or task (within the community’s focus), where Workplace users can then contribute comments to the discussion.

A community’s discussion can also be managed by editing the title/brief description for the discussion’s topic or task, and/or its introductory Overview, as well as archiving the discussion.

Creating a discussion

A discussion can be created:

To create a community’s discussion:

  1. Ensure you have accessed Workplace’s communities feature.

  2. Click the tile of the community where a new discussion will be created, to access the community’s overview page.

  3. In the Discussions section (under Overview), click the Start a Discussion button.
    A new Start a Discussion pop-up appears.

  4. In this pop-up’s Name field, specify a title/brief description for the topic or task being discussed, and click Create.
    The new discussion appears at the top of the list under the DISCUSSIONS tab of the Discussions section.

  5. Click the title/brief description of the topic or task you defined in the Name field of the previous step to open the discussion’s page.

    The Name you specified appears next to the Discussion field, which you can edit by clicking its pencil icon to the right.
  6. In the Overview field, click the pencil icon to the right to open a specify an introduction for the topic or task.

    • The text formatting features available when editing comments are also available in this content editing box. Learn more about these features in Social collaboration.

    • Upon completing the topic’s or task’s introduction, click the tick icon to the top right of the Overview field.

Editing a discussion

Editing a community’s discussion involves modifying the title/brief description for the discussion’s topic or task and/or introductory Overview.

Any logged in Workplace user can edit any public community’s discussion, as well as edit any private community’s discussion in which:

  • permissions have not yet been configured within the community and

  • the user is a member of the community.

To edit a community’s discussion:

  1. Ensure you have accessed Workplace’s communities feature.

  2. Click the tile of the community whose discussion is being edited, to access the community’s overview page.

  3. In the Discussions section (under Overview), click the discussion’s title/brief description of the topic or task (under the DISCUSSIONS tab), to access the community’s discussion.

  4. On this page:

    • To edit the discussion’s title/brief description of the topic or task, click the pencil icon to the right of the Discussion: heading.

      • Upon completion, click the tick icon to save (or 'x' icon to cancel) your changes.

    • To edit the discussion’s introduction, click the pencil icon to the right of the Overview heading to modify the existing introduction in the resulting content editing box.

      • The text formatting features available when editing comments are also available in this content editing box. Learn more about these features in Social collaboration.

      • Upon completing the introduction, click the tick icon to save (or 'x' icon to cancel) your changes.

You can also edit the community’s name and image from a community’s discussion page too. Learn more about this in Editing a community.

Archiving a discussion

Archiving a community hides the community from the Workplace Communities page and makes it inaccessible.

Any logged in Workplace user can archive any public community, as well as archive a private community in which:

  • permissions have not yet been configured and

  • the user is a member.

Only a Workplace system administrator can 'unarchive' the community, which restores the community to the Communities page.

To archive a community:

  1. Ensure you have accessed Workplace’s communities feature.

  2. Click the tile of the community whose discussion is being archived to access the community’s overview page.

  3. Click the Archive button Archive button towards the top-right of the page.

  4. Click Yes in the Are you sure?, bearing in mind that no-one else will be able to access, modify or contribute to the community unless it is unarchived.

© 2015- Squiz Pty Ltd