Creating and managing a community

Overview

When creating a community that is:

  • Public - Any logged in Workplace user can access and modify all content within the community.

  • Private - Only the creator of the community and invited members to the community can access and modify all content within the community.

    Workplace users who are Workplace system administrators:

    • Have access to all private communities.

    • Can configure permissions within a private community by implementing differential manager- and user-level access in the private community. This allows specific Workplace users (who are not Workplace system administrators) to retain full control within the private community. Such users are referred to as managers.

A community can also be managed by editing its name, introductory overview and image on the community overview page, as well as archiving the community.

Creating a community

Any logged in Workplace user can create either a public or private community.

To create a community:

  1. Ensure you have accessed Workplace’s communities feature.

  2. On the right of the Communities page, click the add community button Add community button , followed by the appropriate Private community or Public community option (based on the descriptions above).
    Note that the plus icon changes to an 'x' icon when clicked.

  3. In the resulting dialog box, specify the Name of the community and click Create.
    The new community’s overview page opens.

  4. On the community’s overview page:

    • Add the community’s introductory overview, by clicking the pencil icon to the right of the Overview heading to begin writing this introduction in the resulting content editing box.

      • The text formatting features available when editing comments are also available in this content editing box. Learn more about these features in Social collaboration.

      • Upon completing the introductory overview, click the tick icon to save (or 'x' icon to cancel) your changes.

    • Add the community’s image (also known as the community image, which also appears on the community listing page), by clicking the pencil icon in the lower-right corner of the image area (just left of the community’s name) to open the Upload file dialog box.

      1. Choose the image by either:

        • Dragging and dropping a image from your file system into the central area of the Upload file dialog box.

        • Clicking Select image and choosing the image from your computer’s file system.

      2. Use the Drag to reposition and Resize image features on this dialog box (available after choosing your image) to adjust the community image.

        The uploaded image may appear cropped in this dialog box. Bear in mind that this is not the case, since you are viewing only a truncated version of the image at this point. The complete image can be observed on the community listing page.
      3. Click Upload to upload the image to Workplace and set the community image, or Replace to change the image.

  • Upon creating a community:

    • You automatically follow the community.

    • If the community is private, you are initially the sole member.

  • Initially, all members of a private community can manage all aspects of the community. Therefore, depending on requirements, it is possible to configure permissions within a private community.

Editing a community

Editing a community involves modifying a community’s name, introductory overview and/or image.

Any logged in Workplace user can edit any public community, as well as edit any private community in which:

  • permissions have not yet been configured and

  • the user is a member.

To edit a community:

  1. Ensure you have accessed Workplace’s communities feature.

  2. Click the tile of the community being edited to access its overview page.

  3. On this page:

    • To edit the name of the community, click the pencil icon to the right of its name and modify the name as required.

      • Upon completion, click the tick icon to save (or 'x' icon to cancel) your changes.

    • To edit the community’s introductory overview, click the pencil icon to the right of the Overview heading to modify the existing introduction in the resulting content editing box.

      • The text formatting features available when editing comments are also available in this content editing box. Learn more about these features in Social collaboration.

      • Upon completing the introductory overview, click the tick icon to save (or 'x' icon to cancel) your changes.

    • To modify the community’s image (also known as the community image, which also appears on the community listing page), click the pencil icon in the lower-right corner of the image area (just left of the community’s name) to open the Upload file dialog box.

      1. Choose the image by either:

        • Dragging and dropping a image from your file system into the central area of the Upload file dialog box.

        • Clicking Select image and choosing the image from your computer’s file system.

      2. Use the Drag to reposition and Resize image features on this dialog box (available after choosing your image) to adjust the community image.

        The uploaded image may appear cropped in this dialog box. Bear in mind that this is not the case, since you are viewing only a truncated version of the image at this point. The complete image can be observed on the community listing page.
      3. Click Upload to upload the image to Workplace and set the community image, or Replace to change the image.

Archiving a community

Archiving a community hides the community from the Workplace Communities page and makes it inaccessible.

Any logged in Workplace user can archive any public community, as well as archive a private community in which:

  • permissions have not yet been configured and

  • the user is a member.

Only a Workplace system administrator can 'unarchive' the community, which restores the community to the Communities page.

To archive a community:

  1. Ensure you have accessed Workplace’s communities feature.

  2. Click the tile of the community being archived to access its overview page.

  3. Click the Archive button Archive button towards the top-right of the page.

  4. Click Yes in the Are you sure?, bearing in mind that no-one else will be able to access, modify or contribute to the community unless it is unarchived.

© 2015- Squiz Pty Ltd