User groups

User groups allow you to organize user accounts into groups. Some examples of groups include the different departments the users work in, the section of the site they are responsible for, the level of permission they have in the site, etc.

Store each user group under the Users folder in the asset tree. It is good practice to create user accounts within user groups.

Advantages of using user groups

There are many different reasons why you would use user groups.

Some of the main advantages include the following:

  • You can apply permissions to a user group instead of an individual user.

  • Any user account under that user group will automatically receive the permissions of that group.

    For example, if you have a user group called Content Authors and you have given them Write Permission to your site, any user account created under the Content Authors user group will automatically receive this Write Permission.

  • You can use user groups in a Workflow Schema to allow several people to approve the asset. This ability allows another person from the user group to make Workflow approval if a user is unavailable.

  • If a user joins your organization, instead of changing the permissions in your system, create a user account for them in the appropriate user groups.

    They will receive the permissions that have been granted to this user group and be part of any approval processes of which this user group is part.

  • If a user leaves your organization, instead of changing the permissions in the system, remove their user account from the user group, and they will no longer have permissions.

  • You can restrict which screens on a particular asset type the users in the user group can view.

    For example, you can deny your Content Authors access to the Permissions screen on a standard page asset. This action does not remove the Permissions screen from the menu, but when the authors try to view it, they will see a sign in box.

  • You can customize individual preferences for the users in the user groups. Some of these preferences include WYSIWYG Plugins they can see, the maximum file size they can upload, and where the Save button is on the screen.

Linking user accounts into groups

Sometimes you may have a user that needs several different permissions and hence needs to be a part of many user groups. You can link a user account into as many different user groups as required.

For example, a user account linked to the content authors user group and the content approvers user group will receive the permissions granted to both user groups. If Workflow uses both of these user groups, the user will also be able to make approvals.

After you have linked or moved a user from one group to another, those users will need to log out and back in before their permission changes will take effect.

Read Link types for more information on how to link an asset.

Adding a user group

Once you create your user group, you can configure its settings on its associated asset screens. Read Asset screens for more information about the common asset screens in Matrix.

The Details, Security restrictions, and Preferences screens for a user group are different to the common screens.

By default, any new user group that you create within the system will have Denied public read permission applied to it as a security precaution.

Details screen

Details

By default, the name entered into the Group name field upon user group was created will appear in this section. You can change the name of the user group by clicking into the Group name field and entering the new name for the user group.

The details section
Figure 1. The details section of the details screen

The security restrictions screen

The Security restrictions screen for a user group lets you specify which screens for a particular asset type the users in the user group can or cannot view.

For example, you can deny your content authors user group access to the Permissions screen on a standard page asset. The Permissions screen will remain in the menu, but they will see a sign in dialogue if they try to view it.

Access to all screens on all asset types is the default.

The Restrict access to asset screens section of the Security restrictions screen:

The restrict access section
Figure 2. Security Restrictions Screen

To add a restriction, select an asset type code from the list. You can select multiple asset types by holding down the Ctrl key on the keyboard and clicking on each asset type. Once you have selected an asset type, click Save.

Additional fields will appear on the Security restrictions screen as shown:

The page_standard restriction options
Figure 3. The page_standard restriction options

Each blue heading on the screen represents an asset type restricted for the user group. In the previous example, the page_standard type code appears in a blue heading. This coloring means that this user group has its access to the Standard Page asset restricted. A list of each screen that the users have access to is in the grey box under the blue heading. Any screen not listed will be restricted. In the previous example, the Details screen is not restricted, but all other screens for a standard page asset are. To add additional screens to the list, select the screen from the Allow access to the following screen list, and click Save.

The screen will appear in the grey box for that asset type. To remove the restrictions for a screen or an asset type, select Remove and click Save.

Preferences screen

The Preferences screen lets you customize various options for the users in the user group. For example, you can select which WYSIWYG plugins the user can use in the WYSIWYG editor toolbar.

The Global preferences screen is the default settings screen for all users. You can override these preferences on this screen for each user group.

For example, you may want to remove the Select color plugin from the WYSIWYG editor toolbar for all users but allow your Content approvers user group to access it.

You can remove it on the Global preferences screen but then add it back on the Preferences screen for that user group.

The initial fields in the Customized preferences section of the Preferences screen:

Customized preferences
Figure 4. Customized preferences on the preferences screen

To change a preference, click Customize this preference and click Save. Additional fields will appear on the screen for that preference. To revert to the default setting, select Revert to global preference and click Save.

The preferences available on this screen are the same as those available on the Global Preferences screen.

For more information on these fields, refer to the Global preferences chapter on Matrix Manuals.

© 2015-2020 Squiz Pty Ltd