Managing notifications

The Notifications page is used to send custom notifications to targeted groups of students on the student platform.

These custom notifications can be sent to targeted groups of students enrolled in your university, whereby students can be filtered by the courses or programs they are enrolled in, credit scores, or on other student-specific information, such as the student’s type of enrollment (i.e. full-time or part-time) or year of study.

This information about students is procured from the learning management system and student information system which are integrated and configured with Edify.

Custom notifications can be sent either immediately, or scheduled to be sent at some point in the future.

Accessing the notifications feature

To access Edify’s notifications feature:

  1. Ensure you are signed in to Edify and that the Edify Admin interface is open.

  2. Click Notifications in the navigation panel (or the Notifications tile) to access the Notifications page.

The Notifications page shows all existing notifications divided into two sections:

  • Scheduled - notifications which are to be sent at some point in the future. Be aware that this section does not appear if there are no scheduled notifications.

  • Sent - notifications which have already been sent.

Viewing scheduled or sent notifications

The Scheduled and Sent sections of the Notifications page, respectively show all custom notifications that are scheduled to be sent, and have already been sent by all Edify administrators.

All notifications are listed in reverse chronological order in their respective sections and consist of the following summarised details:

  • Scheduled date (in Scheduled) - the date and time when the notification was last scheduled to be sent, as well as the duration of time remaining before the notification will be sent.

  • Date sent (in Sent) - the date and time when the notification was sent, as well as the duration of time since the notification was sent.

  • Content - the title of the notification, as well as the initial words of the notification’s message.

  • Total students - the total number of students to which the notification will be/had been sent.

To view the notification’s content in its entirety, click the 'eye' icon to the right of the relevant notification in the list to open the notification’s View notification box.

The same information shown for the notification in its list view is shown in this box, although the View notification box shows the notification’s message in its entirety.

Creating a notification

To create a custom notification for a targeted group of students:

  1. Ensure you have accessed the notifications feature and that the Notifications page is open.

  2. Click the New notification button to open the New notification page wizard at its first of four steps:

    1. In the Content step:

      1. Specify a brief Title and detailed Message for your notification.

      2. Click the Continue button.

    2. In the Audience step:

      1. Leave the Send to all students toggle on to send your notification to all registered students in your educational institution/organization.

        Otherwise, switch the Send to all students toggle off to target a specific group of students. Upon doing so:

        1. Click a category on the left to filter for all students who match that category.

        2. Select the check boxes related to your selected category on the right. These check boxes further filter and narrow down the group of students your notification will be sent to. There are two other controls in this section:

          • Select all / Deselect all - respectively selects and clears all check boxes for your chosen category.

          • Show selected / Show all - respectively hides all cleared check boxes and reveals all check boxes for your chosen category. Show selected only becomes available when at least one check box has been selected.

      2. Click the Continue button.

    3. In the Schedule step:

      1. Leave the Schedule toggle off to send your notification to your selected students immediately (upon completion of the New notification wizard).

        Otherwise, switch the Schedule toggle on and specify the Date (noting the format) and Time when your notification will be sent.

      2. Click the Continue button.

    4. In the Review step, check the Preview of your announcement and click either the Schedule or Send buttons, depending on whether or not you chose to schedule the notification being sent.

You are returned to the Notifications page. If your notification was:

  • scheduled - it appears in the Schedule section in schedule order, or

  • sent - it appears in the Sent section at the top of the list.

Editing a scheduled notification

All scheduled notifications (which appear in the Scheduled section of the Notifications page) can be edited before they are actually sent.

Editing a notification also a useful way to send the notification immediately.

To edit a scheduled notification:

  1. Ensure you have accessed the notifications feature and that the Notifications page is open.

  2. Locate the scheduled notification to be edited in the Scheduled section of the page (where this notification could have been created by any Edify administrator), and click its 'pencil' icon to the right to open the Edit notification page wizard at its first of four steps:

    1. In the Content step, edit the Title and Message of the notification, as required.

    2. In the Audience step:

      • If the Send to all students toggle is on, leave it selected to send your notification to all registered students in your educational institution/organization.

      • Otherwise, click through each of the categories on the left and alter their filter options on the right (as required).

    3. In the Schedule step, edit the Date and Time to send the notification, as required.

      Alternatively, switch the Schedule toggle off to send the notification to your selected students immediately (upon completion of the Edit notification wizard).
    4. In the Review step, check the Preview of your announcement and click either the Schedule or Send buttons, depending on whether or not you chose to schedule the notification being sent.

You are returned to the Notifications page with your edited notification appearing in the appropriate Scheduled or Sent section.

Deleting a scheduled notification

Any scheduled notification (which appears in the Scheduled section of the Notifications page) can be deleted, which permanently deletes the notification and prevents it from being sent.

To delete a scheduled notification:

  1. Ensure you have accessed the notifications feature and that the Notifications page is open.

  2. Locate the scheduled notification to be deleted in the top Scheduled section of the page (where this notification could have been created by any Edify administrator), and click its 'trash' icon (by hovering near its 'pencil' icon).

  3. Click Delete to confirm the deletion.

© 2015- Squiz Pty Ltd